• Home
  • Articles
  • International Standard Industrial Classification

International Standard Industrial Classification


15 September 2018

International Standard Industrial Classification

The International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC) is a United Nations industry classification system. Wide use has been made of ISIC in classifying data according to kind of economic activity in the fields of employment and health data.

ISIC classifies entities by activity. The most detailed categories are defined by combinations of activities described in statistical units, considering the relative importance of the activities included in these classes.


2008 classification

A. Agriculture, forestry and fishing

B. Mining and quarrying

C. Manufacturing

D. Electricity, gas, steam and air conditioning supply

E. Water supply; sewerage, waste management and remediation activities

F. Construction

G. Wholesale and retail trade; repair of motor vehicles and motorcycles

H. Transportation and storage

I. Accommodation and food service activities

J. Information and communication

K. Financial and insurance activities

L. Real estate activities

M. Professional, scientific and technical activities

N. Administrative and support service activities

O. Public administration and defence; compulsory social security

P. Education

Q. Human health and social work activities

R. Arts, entertainment and recreation

S. Other service activities

T. Activities of households as employers; undifferentiated goods- and services-producing activities of households for own use

U. Activities of extraterritorial organizations and bodies

Back To Articles